Tags

, ,

This will be a random and Not Very Organized post. I don’t feel very organized yet, though I feel an almost constant need for organization these days (nesting? or the regular semi-annual ‘Sharon Needs Organization Right Now’ bug?  probably a bit of both…)

I’ve had some more energy than usual today and yesterday, wherein I have done laundry, vacuumed and mopped floors, finished as much as possible Anna’s room, cooked a dinner, kept up with dishes, actually made the bed two mornings in a row, and now I am blogging, and I feel Very Productive. *pats self on back*

We are 32 weeks in this week, I am growing larger by the day it seems, though my weight has been about the same for a few weeks. According to The Internets, I have gained too much weight already though I can’t imagine where it’s going except my stomach, since that’s the only thing getting bigger that I can tell. Besides all the getting biggerness, I have been experiencing some of the more fun effects of being pregnant over the past couple of weeks (and by ‘fun’ I mean ‘not fun at all’). These include: not being able to fall asleep due to hip pain, restlessness, itchiness, baby movement, and general discomfort. Wheee. Also, I’ve developed what The Internet tells me is carpal tunnel, wherein especially at night, my hands and sometimes my arms up to my elbow, will ‘fall asleep’. My hands, especially the left one, feels so swollen I can hardly make a fist when I wake up and it’s just generally very uncomfortable though not painful. I have to try to sleep with my arms straight which is hard since I usually curl one up under a pillow.

But enough of me complaining, because in less than 8 weeks (I hope) it will all be worth it as we welcome our fidgety little girl into our world!

Here is her Wall! Signs are made from scrapbook paper, cardboard, and Modge Podge.

Here is her Wall! Signs are made from scrapbook paper, cardboard, and Modge Podge.

So, I can put up with all the aches and pains for a few more weeks. Well, in other news, this past weekend we had an extra day off (I kind of always have days off, but getting a Monday off means I got an Actual Day Off because Monday is one of my usual teaching evenings), because of Moon Festival, or Mid-Autumn Festival, which is a huge holiday in China and Taiwan, and though I don’t really know the meaning behind it, it involves a day off, barbecues (not like 4th of July barbecues, mind you… like Taiwanese-style-grill-little-tiny-pieces-of-meat-on-a-tiny-grill-in-front-of-your-house kind of barbecue), moon cakes (which I mostly don’t like, though I do love the green bean ones because they are sweet and flaky and kind of cakey and don’t have an egg yolk in them like the other ones), and fruit. I guess fruit, because we get given fruit every year. This year we got Asian Pears again, they are delicious. I’ve been eating them for breakfast.

Our church had a barbecue, and I took one picture.

We couldn't light our charcoal because we are too White. I just made that up. Really, we'd just never done it. This Taiwanese neighbor with a serious flame thrower thing came and lit for us. It took him a while too, though. Taiwanese charcoal is no joke!

We couldn’t light our charcoal because we are too White. I just made that up. Really, we’d just never done it. This Taiwanese neighbor with a serious flame thrower thing came and lit for us. It took him a while too, though. Taiwanese charcoal is no joke!

And yes, that is a giant watermelon on the ground. It was delicious. The barbecue was in the courtyard of my old apartment building.

Let’s see, what else? Well, as I said, I’ve super organized Anna’s room to the point where I feel ok about her arriving to it now, though she won’t sleep in there for a while.

In true Sharon style, and in honor of my Love For Labels, I have dutifully labelled all her clothes baskets. Our cloth diapers have been washed, sorted, and stuffed neatly into those four flower bins. We'll see how long they stay neatly sorted after Anna arrives...

In true Sharon style, and in honor of my Love For Labels, I have dutifully labelled all her clothes baskets. Our cloth diapers have been washed, sorted, and stuffed neatly into those four flower bins. We’ll see how long they stay neatly sorted after Anna arrives…

I will now insert some random photos from the cell phone, for your viewing pleasure. They are not in order and have nothing to do with each other. Have fun. 😀

This family on a scooter is very typical for Taiwan. I commend them for at least putting helmets on their kids. A lot of parents don't. I've seen parents holding babies in Ergos on the back of the scooter, and sometimes just in their arms. No helmets. Babies. They also don't generally use car seats here, though we will, when we need to take a taxi. We aren't buying a car. But no way is Anna going on a scooter! At least not for a looooong tiiimmmme....

This family on a scooter is very typical for Taiwan. I commend them for at least putting helmets on their kids. A lot of parents don’t. I’ve seen parents holding babies in Ergos on the back of the scooter, and sometimes just in their arms. No helmets. Babies. They also don’t generally use car seats here, though we will, when we need to take a taxi. We aren’t buying a car. But no way is Anna going on a scooter! At least not for a looooong tiiimmmme….

They were out of the dill pickle Pringles, but you can see a picture of it there on the cardboard. For the record, if you ever meet Dill Pickle Pringles, don't buy them. Worst chip EVER! Blech.

They were out of the dill pickle Pringles, but you can see a picture of it there on the cardboard. For the record, if you ever meet Dill Pickle Pringles, don’t buy them. Worst chip EVER! Blech.

I really wanted to take this photo last night when all the neighbors were standing out here with their trash, but I was too chicken to snap a photo of my neighbors. Here is where everyone parks scooters, and outside the gate is where neighbors gather to wait for the trash and recycling trucks to come by at 7:30 pm. It's the strangest way of taking out trash I've ever experienced. After the long holiday weekend where no trash was picked up, last night when the trucks ran again, all the neighbors were out here with GIANT piles of trash and recycling for pickup. I had a little box and one bag. They were amazed at how little trash we made in three days. Heh.

I really wanted to take this photo last night when all the neighbors were standing out here with their trash, but I was too chicken to snap a photo of my neighbors. Here is where everyone parks scooters, and outside the gate is where neighbors gather to wait for the trash and recycling trucks to come by at 7:30 pm. It’s the strangest way of taking out trash I’ve ever experienced. After the long holiday weekend where no trash was picked up, last night when the trucks ran again, all the neighbors were out here with GIANT piles of trash and recycling for pickup. I had a little box and one bag. They were amazed at how little trash we made in three days. Heh.

And last but not least, I will leave you with this loverly image of the baby Anna bump at 32 weeks.

And last but not least, I will leave you with this loverly image of the baby Anna bump at 32 weeks.

There! I’ve done it! Another long blog post for YOU! I know we have a lot of people praying for us and Anna’s arrival, and thank you! In addition, if you think of us, Aaron’s new class of grade 1 students, the Rainbows, is very trying for him this year. He has some frustrating students he’s learning how to handle, and he doesn’t feel very confident with them yet. He is at the school long hours every day investing in his students, and could use your prayers for energy, wisdom, and encouragement. 

Also my ARC (Alien Resident Card/work visa) is kind of still going through some trouble, and we’re trying hard to get all the paperworks filed in time so there’s no lapse in time between work visas so I will still be eligible for the Permanent Resident Card this year. It’s complicated. But please help us pray all the papers are processed timely and it works out perfectly for us. 

Thank you everyone for reading, and happy September! 🙂 God is good, all the time, and we are very thankful!! 

